…Call-Out!

Call-Out

Due to the ongoing nature of my health issues, I’ve been privately approaching bloggers to contribute guest FIXES of their own to maintain interest in this site while I need to be absent for long periods.

While I’ve had wonderful contributions from Plok, Tony of The Wastebasket and fnord12 at SuperMegaMonkey’s Marvel Comics Chronology, this has obviously not been enough.

I’m therefore calling out to writers across the Comics Blogosphere who feel a burning urge to make public a secretly held FIX for a retcon they hated or an abandoned plot they felt they could resolve better than the “top-flight industry johnny-come-latelies” who tried and failed miserably.

If you’re interested, please Leave a Reply to this Post indicating a topic from the list below, or suggest your own which you’ve been desperate to get out there (also remembering to include your email so I can get in touch):

…the origin of Homo Mermanus;

…Janet Van Dyne’s resemblance to Maria Pym;

…the true origin of Space Phantom (and Limbo’s to boot);

…Rick Jones’s resemblance to Bucky Barnes;

…the true origin of Doctor Doom;

…Lucifer’s origin (not a Quist);

…the Savage Land’s origin – pending;

…Stranger’s origin – pending;

…the origin of the Merlin Stones;

…why Quicksilver had to return to Transia to recharge his powers;

…Galactus’s origin;

…Silver Surfer’s origin (retconning Norrin Radd);

…Vision’s origin (what caught Ant-Man’s eye if his innards weren’t those of the original Human Torch);

…the origin of the Black Knight’s Ebony Blade;

…Magda’s whereabouts;

…Thanos’s origin (i.e. why was a Skrull colony hiding on Uranus);

…Omega the Unknown’s connection to James-Michael Starling;

…Immortus’s origin (if he’s not Kang) – pending;

…the identity of the Mantis’s son, Quoi, to be Groot;

…who was the true master of the Magneto-robot and Mesmero behind the Demi-Men plot (retconning Machinesmith);

…the true origin of Eric the Red;

…Wolverine’s origin;

…the origin of The Hand – pending;

…the origin of the New Salemites;

…Jessica Drew’s origin (addressing her being a Childe of the Darkhold);

…the true origin of the Eternals and Deviants in the Marvel Universe – pending

…the true origin of the Asgardian Destroyer;

…Luna’s origin (to be daughter of Crystal and Johnny Storm, not Quicksilver);

…Nebula’s origin (not the granddaughter of Thanos);

…Nightcrawler’s mother (without resorting to Irene Adler);

…Selene’s connection to Magma;

…Callisto(and Lila Cheney)’s origin;

…Beyonder’s origin (Quoi or Ahura, son of Black Bolt and Medusa);

…the Demon Bear’s connection to the Adversary;

…the Beast of the Hand’s origin – see above;

…the Devil in the Marvel Universe;

…the Kingpin’s hired goon in the Daredevil graphic novel, Love and War, looking a lot like Garrett, the SHIELD/ CIA cyborg;

…the Scourge of the Underworld’s true origin;

…why Earth has been the focus of so many alien races in the Marvel Universe;

…Mister Sinister’s origin;

…Mr. Sinister’s “real” reason for wanting the Morlock’s massacred;

…the X-Men’s invisibility to cameras;

…Roughhouse and Bloodsport’s connection to Asgard;

…the identities of the Twelve (retaining their original purpose to lead mutantkind into the future);

…Firebird (Bonita Juarez’s) origin;

…what happened to the REAL Terminus (referred to in Uncanny X-Men Annual #12);

…The Dane Curse;

…what became of Thomas & William Maximoff (i.e. Cable and Stryfe)?

…Psylocke’s transformation into an Anglo-Chinese (as originally intended by Chris Claremont);

…Ahab’s origin (including how he’s related to Rogue);

…Gambit’s origin – pending;

…Cable’s origin;

…Askani’s identity as intended by Chris Claremont;

…Shatterstar’s origin (you know you can do better than PAD);

…X-Traitor plotline;

…Darkhawk’s origin (without resorting to the Fraternity of Raptors);

…Emma Frost’s origin;

…Doom 2099’s origin – pending;

…the Crossing (without resorting to reveal its characters as Space Phantoms);

…Exodus’s origin (recalling the original Shi’ar features);

…Deathcry’s origin;

…Monet and Penance’s origins;

…Blink’s origin;

…the ending of Marvel 2099;

…Xorn’s origin;

…Blade’s origin;

…Deadpool’s parentage (can you say Terror Inc.);

…Fantomex’s origin;

…the truth behind the Green Flame that transformed Alan Scott into a Green Lantern;

…Wonder Woman’s origin – pending;

…Spectre and Phantom Stranger’s origins;

…Qull’s prophecy (without resorting to the Sinestro Corps War);

…Bane’s origin;

…the Valiant Universe after Jim Shooter left;

…what occurs to Hellspawn during the Ordeal of the Dark Carcass;

…Boba Fett’s origin;

…the origin of Master Sifo-Dyas from Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones; or

…suggest your own!

12 Responses

  1. Dibs on Galactus, the Devil, and the Beyonder! But as a collective springboard for an essay on comics-as-religion. This does not preclude others from addressing them in more detail: I would only address the broad themes, not the detail (unless that detail happened to be in the FF) because outside of the FF I don’t feel qualified to comment.

    Happily, the foundational texts for G and B are in the FF. (Yes, I know that Thor adds a lot of detail for G, but I argue that all the key points are in G’s first appearance, and then the trial of reed Richards provides a way to approach the issue of reliability for the rest). I would also argue that the key texts for the Devil are also in the FF (I would, wouldn’t I): not just because of some highly revealing conflicts with Mephisto, but because the early FF was the most vocal in its references to Christianity (the references are oblique but are there). And of course we get passing refs from Ghost Rider, Master Pandemonium, etc.

    My unifying theme would be the nature of truth: I think it is fairly clear that the great power of religion (and one that lends itself to endless abuse) is the power to simplify data. Comics share that power (hence my frustration with people who think that simplicity is only simplicity, stories are only stories, comics are only comics). So I’d love to explore the nature of truth and stories as a framework for understanding the real world, using Galactus, Beyonder and the Devil as texts. I recently spent several pages examining just one thread in the trial of Reed Richards, about whether Galactus is evil and what that means, and whether we can trust the narrator in cases like that. That cries out for linking to the wider concepts of the Beyonders and of evil. I don’t say “of evil in the MU” I mean of evil in the real world, as they should be the same thing. Or if they are not then those are not comics I want to read.

    It always helps to start with a Genesis narrative, to simplify and establish definitions. So an essay like that would naturally start with the origins of G, B and D (we just need F to complete the musical scale!). I would examine what are the central facts and why, and how the other details can be re-interpreted, dismissed, or are possibly so alien that any attempt to rely on the printed simplifcations would be pointless.

    tl;dr: I want the big guns, please 🙂

  2. hope this isn’t a double post – it usually takes about two password resets and multiple clicks on “OK” before I can post anything on WordPress… oh, and sorry to hear about your health.

    Original message which is maybe just queued for moderation now I think about it:
    Dibs on Galactus, the Devil, and the Beyonder! But as a collective springboard for an essay on comics-as-religion. This does not preclude others from addressing them in more detail: I would only address the broad themes, not the detail (unless that detail happened to be in the FF) because outside of the FF I don’t feel qualified to comment.

    Happily, the foundational texts for G and B are in the FF. (Yes, I know that Thor adds a lot of detail for G, but I argue that all the key points are in G’s first appearance, and then the trial of reed Richards provides a way to approach the issue of reliability for the rest). I would also argue that the key texts for the Devil are also in the FF (I would, wouldn’t I): not just because of some highly revealing conflicts with Mephisto, but because the early FF was the most vocal in its references to Christianity (the references are oblique but are there). And of course we get passing refs from Ghost Rider, Master Pandemonium, etc.

    My unifying theme would be the nature of truth: I think it is fairly clear that the great power of religion (and one that lends itself to endless abuse) is the power to simplify data. Comics share that power (hence my frustration with people who think that simplicity is only simplicity, stories are only stories, comics are only comics). So I’d love to explore the nature of truth and stories as a framework for understanding the real world, using Galactus, Beyonder and the Devil as texts. I recently spent several pages examining just one thread in the trial of Reed Richards, about whether Galactus is evil and what that means, and whether we can trust the narrator in cases like that. That cries out for linking to the wider concepts of the Beyonders and of evil. I don’t say “of evil in the MU” I mean of evil in the real world, as they should be the same thing. Or if they are not then those are not comics I want to read.

    It always helps to start with a Genesis narrative, to simplify and establish definitions. So an essay like that would naturally start with the origins of G, B and D (we just need F to complete the musical scale!). I would examine what are the central facts and why, and how the other details can be re-interpreted, dismissed, or are possibly so alien that any attempt to rely on the printed simplifcations would be pointless.

    tl;dr: I want the big guns, please 🙂

  3. I touched on my origin of the Ebony Blade in an eariler post and will re-type and expand on the idea that too much magical power corrupts and the corruption can be expelled into an object, much like how Odin enchanted various weapons.
    This would explan the various cursed black objects found throughout the Marvel Universe -two of which are swords!

  4. If you’re still looking, I’d like to do the Phantom Stranger…

    …And ‘Supreme Power.’

    Chris

  5. I know we talked about me doing something for the blog a long time back and my apologies for not getting back to you before now. If you’re still looking, I’m interested in some of the X-Men origins that haven’t been touched on yet, especially Xorn, Gambit, Cable, and Wolverine (although the latter two will probably take a good deal of more research than the former). I might also be interested in Sinister’s reason for killing the Morlock’s and Psylocke’s transformation, but the origin ones attract me the most for the moment, particularly Xorn (several years back, I wrote an analysis of Morrison’s New X-Men run that got some popularity on the Internet).

    E-mail is percival.constantine@gmail.com.

  6. If the Australian hero Talisman from Contest of Champions is connected with Gateway beyond both being native and using bull roarers?

  7. I have an idea to repair the LEGIONS OF SUPERHEROES. (That’s right, LEGIONS PLURAL).

    I have 52 Legions burning a hole in my idea box and I’d love to put it down somewhere.

    – Gary

  8. Hey, I found your site via SuperMegaMonkey and have a pretty ironed out “true” Scourge of the Underworld fix. To the point where I basically treat it as canon. It mostly concerns his original appearances, since I very much don’t like the idea of just writing off stuff “as Space Phantoms” or whatever. I think it would be less of an asspull than some of actual Scourge stuff and initially how much it actually fits is kinda eerie.

    Oh, and I am a blogger, of sorts, with a Tumblr with about 2,000 followers (which I think is good?) which is mostly just me posting scans of first appearances, interesting fights, big moments. Not much writing… I used to have other blogs but gave up on them coz people generally annoy me as a thing.

    If you’d be interested, I sure wouldn’t mind formally writing it up for you. 🙂

  9. Hi, I’m not sure if my last comment went through and you have to “approve” them manually, but I have a Scourge theory (well, it’s more an idea and then a recap with putting things under a microscope with the new context). Though it sorta falls apart passed a certain point, it’s viable for the original Scourge appearances at least.

    Sorry if you get two comments from me.

Leave a Reply

